About Street Symphony
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-305,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,paspartu_enabled,paspartu_on_bottom_fixed,qode_grid_1300,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-child-theme-ver-2.0,qode-theme-ver-10.0,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.5,vc_responsive


Our Purpose

We live in a world in pain. On any given night, tens of thousands of people – many with a diagnosed form of mental illness – experience homelessness and incarceration in Los Angeles County. As artists and citizens, the musicians of Street Symphony ask: what is the role of the artist to heal and inspire – but also to ask brave questions and tell important stories?

Our Musicians

Street Symphony musicians are a community of professional musicians, emerging artists and members of the Skid Row community.

Street Symphony Instrumentalists

Camille Avellano, Niv Ashkenasi, Jin-Shan Dai, Jason Uyeyama, Vijay Gupta, and Mitchell Newman, violin
Zach Dellinger, Michael Larco, Ryan Davis, and Andrew Duckles, viola
Dahae Kim and Barry Gold, cello
David Allan Moore, bass
David Howard, clarinet
James Wilt, trumpet
Nicholas Stoup, timpani
Irene Gregorio and Joanne Pearce Martin, keyboard

Ensembles & Partners

Mostly Kosher
Urban Voices Project (Street Symphony currently serve as fiscal sponsors to UVP)
Sunrise Quartet: Aubree Oliverson and Bree Fotheringham (violins), Emma Wernig (viola), Dong Nyuk ‘Sunrise’ Kim (cello)
Street Symphony Fellows

Street Symphony Chamber Singers

Tamara Bevard, Shelly Fox, Kelci Hahn, Ayana Haviv, Beth Peregrine, Elyse Willis, soprano

Amy Fogerson, Sarah Lynch, Alice Kirwan Murray, Leslie Inman Sobol, Kristen Toedtman, alto

Matthew Brown, Jody Golightly, Todd Honeycutt, Charlie Kim, Charles Lane, Todd Strange, tenor

Scott Graff, James Hayden, Luc Kleiner, Scott Lehmkuhl, Ed Levy, Brett McDermid, bass

Street Symphony Jazz Band

Brandon Bernstein, guitar and director
Mike Scott, guitar
Harry McKenzie, drums
Putter Smith and Blake White, bass
David Sills, saxophone
Pamela Jackson, vocals

Our Team

Vijay Gupta: Founder/Artistic Director, Violin
Amy Fogerson: Mezzo/Director, Street Symphony Chamber Singers
Reena Esmail: Composer in Residence

Valerie Bischof, Videographer
Emily Lair, Program Manager
Dr. Irene Gregorio, Program Liaison
Dustin Seo, Project Assistant
Amelia Bolton, Social Media intern

Board of Directors

Vijay Gupta

Founder/Artistic Director

Adam Crane

Vice President for External Affairs, New York Philharmonic

Mitchell Newman

Violinist, Los Angeles Philharmonic

Georgia Berkovich

Director of Public Affairs, The Midnight Mission

Advisory Board

Gail Eichenthal, Chief Engagement Officer, Classical KUSC/KDFC
Robert Lynch, President/CEO, Americans for the Arts.
Sandra Pressman, Community Advocate
Joshua Roman, Cellist, Composer, and Curator
Craig Watson, Former Director, California Arts Council
Hon. Zev Yaroslavsky, Former Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors
Dr. Nathaniel Zeisler, Director of Community Engagement, The Colburn School
Karen Zorn, President, Longy School of Music